Mardi Gras 2014-15

Under the leadership of Lisa Maynard and Steph Oliver, we hosted what is always our most exciting event of the year, Mardi Gras. Junior Board of Rock Island's 76th Annual Mardi Gras Charity Ball was held at the Quad-Cities Waterfront Convention Center on February 14, 2015. This celebrated Quad Cities tradition left those in attendance with lifelong memories. The theme for this year's gala event was "A Roaring '20s Valentine Ball". With Anjel Tweet, Barb Cady, and Brooke Terronez leading the decorations committee, guests who entered the Convention Center were immediately taken back in time and enjoyed drinks and flapper fun in a 20's style speakeasy before entering the glittering opulence of a party Gatsby could have only dreamed of hosting. The evening began with a cocktail hour, complemented by a "Moonshine" raffle and a magnificent silent auction.

Our fundraising committee, led by Amanda Aunan and Kelly Ducey, raised over \$35,000 in our silent auction. For the second year in a row, Qtego Auction Technology hosted the silent auction electronically. The electronic bidding system was made possible by the following generous sponsors:

Smart Toyota of Quad Cities
Tennant Truck Lines, Inc.
Langman Contstruction Inc.
DHCU
River Valley Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
UBS Financial Services

Patti DeLeu served as our Master of Ceremonies. Mrs. DeLeu introduced this year's honored guests, Christopher Moen and Patricia Tillman, as King and Queen of the Mardi Gras Ball. These two exceptional individuals have contributed their time and energy to countless organizations throughout the years. Patti also presented the Mardi Gras court, featuring 16 Attendants and 9 pages, as well as two crown bearers.

The attendants for the evening were:

Caitlyn Dewitte
Daria Guzzo
Sarah Hillbloom
Michaela Hird
Grace Moran
Alexandra Newenham
Courtney Pearson
Sydney Phares
Lauren Simmer
Courtney Smith
Madison Smith
Alexis Tansey
Kiersten Timmer
Morgan Twing
Sarah VanHoe

The pages were: Jakob Beierlein Adam Cady William Carius

McKenzie Zambrano

Sam Fernandez Dominic Huntley Andy Maynard Jack Miller Peter Mihm Connor Rafferty

Crown bearers were: Eva Essman Leyton Keys