Mardi Gras

2011-2012 Mardi Gras Charity Ball

Junior Board of Rock Island's 73rd annual Mardi Gras Charity Ball was held at the beautiful Quad City Waterfront Convention Center on February 18, 2012 This event brought yet another memory filled evening for so many in Quad Cities community.

"Monet's Garden" was the theme for this year's ball. The event welcomed close to 500 in attendance. Guests felt as if they were swept away to the personal gardens of Claude Monet in Giverny, France. The scent of gorgeous floral arrangements wafted through the air as they beautifully adorned the ballroom. Guests danced all night long to the music of, The Terry Hanson Ensemble and deejay Jonny O. The night included a fantastic silent auction that featured 85 incredible packages and raised more than \$23,000 to support Junior Board's continued service to the Nest programs and our community's children. This night would not have been possible without the dedication and tireless devotion of our members.

Craig Amundsen, served as our Master of Ceremonies. Craig introduced this year's honored guests Tom J. Klingbiel and Susan Ann Scally as our majestic King and Queen of the Mardi Gras Ball. These two outstanding individuals have generously contributed time and energy to many organizations throughout the years. Craig also presented this year's Mardi Gras court which featured 15 Attendants and 6 Pages and the 2 crown bearers:

Attendants

Samantha Jo Bebber
Tatiana Galvin
Jillian Marie Jespersen
Miranda Kae Johnson
Mia Rose Kavensky
Chloe' Katherine McGehee
Hannah Kay Nelson
Lauren Elizabeth Powell
Amanda Maxine Raufeisen
Emily Elyse Sharp
Missy Sheraden
Alexandra MarieSweeney
Marea Elizabeth Tennant
Eliza Jane Zeglin
Jenna Marie Zmuda

Pages

Samuel Richard Armetta Joseph Daniel Boland Adam Michael Hoogerwerf Alexander Thomas Hillyer Nicholas LaCourt Thomas Jeffrey Noe

Crown bearers

Ethan Charles Kirkpatrick Norah Elisabeth Harson

2012 Mardi Gras Menu

Classic Wedge Salad topped with dried cherries, tomatoes, red onion and crumbled goat cheese -balsamic Vinaigrette and bleu cheese dressing will be offered before all entrees.

"Impressionist's Palette"

Petit filet mignon accompanied by pan seared chicken breasts, with a sun dried tomato béchamel roasted fingerling parmesan potatoes & lemon grilled asparagus.

"Giverny Garden"

Pasta marinara stacked with portabella, eggplant, sautéed Swiss chard on a field of vegetables garnished with shaved parmesan and white truffle oil.

"Crème de la Crème"

White chocolate mousse filled cream puff pastry with a duo of chocolate and raspberry sauces & beautifully finished with a strawberry fan and a brushstroke of raspberry sauce.

Read about last years event.

The 2011-2012 Mardi Gras Committee

General Chairs

Jennifer Knuth, jenknuth@yahoo.com Beth Ducey, bethducey@augustana.edu

<u>Arrangements</u>

Chair: Barb Cady, brian.cady@sbcglobal.net Co-Chair: Anjel Tweet, anjelt@mchsi.com

Decorations

Chair: Kristin Cadwallader, daveandkristin@sbcglobal.net

Co-Chair: Sara Liddell, swinter2@yahoo.com

King/Queen

Chair: Charlotte Johnson, charlotte.johnson@risd41.org

Co-Chair: Gail Gant, gail.gant@risd41.org

Attendants

Chair: Heather McGeehon, mrmcg08@live.com Co-Chair: Jennifer Pearson, BJTBP@aol.com

Invitations

Chair:Diane Lamacki, diane@graphixone.com
Co-Chair: Deb McDaniel, rimcdaniel@mchsi.com

Door & Seating

Chair: Kimberly Martin, sydneydominic@yahoo.com Co-Chair: Michelle Timmer, mtimmer12@gmail.com

<u>Tickets</u>

Chair: Beth Behrends, bbehrends@rwbaird.com

<u>Patrons</u>

Chair: Jenny Hodge-Burkett, jhodge@dickinsonlaw.com Co-Chair: Melissa Gasiorowski, missygaz@live.com

Centerpiece

Chair: Kristy Rasso, rassok@gmail.com

Co-Chair: Tracey Milefchik, tmilefchik@sbcglobal.net

<u>Flowers</u>

Chair: Rachel Hayden, hayden.rachel.@yahoo.com

Co-Chair: Laura Hotle, la-hallas@wiu.edu

Pages

Chair: Laura James, Ikjames@midamerican.com Co-Chair: Kitty Hillyer, kittyhillyer@yahoo.com

<u>Specialty Items</u>
Chair: Johnna Adam, t_jadam@hotmail.com
Co-Chair: Beth Behrends, bbehrends@rwbaird.com

<u>Pictures</u> Chair/Coat Check: Laura Dunn, <u>Imdunn@mchsi.com</u>

Social
Chair: Britt Bartels, brittpeterson@hotmail.com Co-Chair: Cosette Thoms, cothoms@mchsi.com

<u>Fundraising</u>

Chair: Kelly Powell, k_shannon77@hotmail.com

Chair: Andrea Sue Boeye, aboeye@melfosterco.com

Co-Chair: Jennifer Hartmann, hartmannjennifera@johndeere.com

Website Coordinator

Beth Behrends, bbehrends@rwbaird.com

President

Erica Williams, brwekw@gmail.com

Treasurer

Chris Johnson, chris.johnson@mchsi.com